Nobel Prize- Indian Nobel prize winning personalities

Nobel Prize winners of India

Nobel Prize is an annual International award given to Internationally nominated persons for advancements in the fields of Science and Culture.It was first awarded in 1901 with Sweden as the hosting country.It is named after Sweden engineer,chemist and inventor Alfred Nobel.

Following is a list of Nobel Prize winners of India from beginning till now.The list includes all the people who were born in India,born in India but with foreign citizenship and also those who were born outside India but had Indian citizenship:

Nobel Prize Winners of India Origin:

1.)Rabindranath Tagore (7 May 1861 – 7 August 1941)

Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian to win Nobel Prize.
Field: Work in Literature

2.) Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman (7 November 1888 – 21 November 1970)

Dr. Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman won Nobel Prize for his notable work in field of Physics.
Field: Work in field of Physics (1930)
Other Awards:
Knight Bachelor (1929)
Bharat Ratna (1954)
Lenin Peace Prize (1957)

3.) Amartya Sen (3 November 1933)

He won Nobel Prize in 1998.
Field: Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics
Other Awards: Bharat Ratna (1999)

Nobel Prize Winners: Foreign Indian Citizen:


1.) Ronald Ross (13 May 1857 – 16 September 1932)

Won Nobel Prize in 1902 for his notable work against Malaria.
Field: Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine

2.) Rudyard Kipling (30 December 1865 – 18 January 1936)

Won Nobel Prize in 1907
Field: Literature

Nobel Prize Winners : Foreign born Indian citizens:


1.) Mother Teresa (26 August 1910 – 5 September 1997)

Mother Teresa was Roman Catholic Nun born in Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu and known for her work for the benefites of poor,sick,orphaned and other needy peoples.
Field: Nobel Peace Prize (1979)
Other Awards:
Bharat Ratna (1980)

Nobel Prize Winners: Indian Born Foreign Citizens:

1.) Abdus Salam (January 29, 1926– November 21, 1996)

Field:Nobel Prize in Physics (1979)
Other Awards:
Smith’s Prize
Adams Prize
Sitara-e-Pakistan (1959)
Nishan-e-Imtiaz (1979)
Copley Medal (1990)

2.) HarGobind Khorana (January 9, 1922)

Field: Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (1968)
Other Awards:
Gairdner Foundation International Award
Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize
Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research

3.) Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar (October 19, 1910 – August 21, 1995)

Field: Nobel Prize in Physics (1983)
Other Awards:
National Medal of Science (1966)
Padma Vibhushan (1968)
Copley Medal (1984)

4.) Venkatraman Ramakrishnan (Born 1952)

Field: Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2009)
Other Awards:
Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine (2007)
Padma Vibhushan (2010)

5.) V. S. Naipaul (Born 17 August 1932)

Field: Nobel Prize in Literature (2001)
Other Awards:
Booker Prize (1971)

About Indiaexam

Liked this post? Follow us @Facebook @Twitter


  1. deepin dua says:

    i like this information about india and between foreign

  2. I like this information abou india

  3. thanks for given in formation about indian nobel prize winers

  4. vamshi krishna says:

    thanks for your information it is very helpful for the competitive exams

  5. Thank u so much for your is very help us to prepare competitive exams.

  6. siddineni venkateswara rao says:

    Does Amartya sen comes under category of India origin ? I think he is Indian born foreign citizen

  7. I got this web site from my buddy who shared with me about this web page and now this time I am visiting this web site and reading very
    informative articles at this time.

Speak Your Mind